By the Numbers: Team Philippines wraps up Tokyo Paralympic Campaign

Team Philippines ended their campaign with high hopes despite failing to notch a podium finish in the 2020 Tokyo Paralympics.

Despite the setbacks and struggles, the Filipino para-athletes still managed to compete against the world’s best with pride and determination.

Para-swimmer Ernie Gawilan bannered the Philippine flag with passion and dedication during the closing ceremony of the games.

Here are some numbers to remember of the Philippine Team in their Tokyo Paralympics campaign:


Achele Guion, Jerrold Mangliwan, Ernie Gawilan, Gary Bejino, Jeanette Aceveda, and Allain Ganapin qualified to represent the Philippines in the 2020 Tokyo Paralympics.


Para taekwondo Jin Ganapin and para-athlete Aceveda took their debut in the Paralympics stage.


Despite winning several medals and being part of the national team since 1997, it took the Discus thrower Aceveda 24-long years to compete in the Paralympics game.


Five para-athletes were set to represent the Philippines in swimming, athletics, and taekwondo competition after powerlifter Guion was pulled out of the team because of CoVid-19.


After the departure of Achele Guion, Ganapin and Aceveda ended their 2020 Tokyo Paralympic campaign after testing positive from CoVid-19.


Para swimmer Ernie Gawilan placed 4th in the Men’s 400m freestyle-S7 Heat 2, making it the highest spot for the Philippine Team.


DavaoeƱo para-swimmer Gawilan landed 6th place both in the Men’s 100m backstroke-S7 Heat 2 and 400m freestyle S7 Finals, alongside para-swimmer Bejino in the Men’s 400m freestyle-S6 Heat 1. Also joining the squad is wheelchair racer Mangliwan who finished 6th in the 1500m T-52.


Seven is indeed a lucky number as 25-year-old swimmer Bejino finished in 7th place both in the Men’s 100m backstroke-S6 Heat 2 and Men’s 50m butterfly-S6 Heat 1.


Mangliwan ended his Paralympic campaign with high hopes after finishing 8th place in Men’s 100m T-52.


The two-time ASEAN Para Games gold medalist Mangliwan set a new personal record, 3:58.24, beating his previous personal best, 4:09.95.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *